Using up Leftovers #2

Yesterday morning, I made some healthy banana pancakes accompanied by a fruit compote. Whilst I revise, I find that I get extremely hungry and want to eat EVERYTHING. At this moment, I really fancied something sweet but I didn’t want to make anything that was too time consuming; so, these pancakes were ideal.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • Oats (I used one quick oats sachet)
  • 1 egg
  • Cinnamon (optional)
  • Coconut oil or olive oil to fry
  • Frozen or fresh berries
  • Maple Syrup (Any sweet syrup would be suitable such as honey or golden syrup).

Method:

  1. Put the banana, egg, oats and cinnamon in a blender (I used my Kenwood ‘2go ‘ blender but you can use a nutri-bullet or an alternative blender instead). Blend together until the batter is soft and smooth.
  2. Put the frozen berries in a bowl  and put in the microwave to defrost. You can skip this step if you are using fresh berries or you can heat the berries in a saucepan if you prefer.
  3. Heat the coconut oil or olive oil on a medium heat in the frying pan making sure that the oil is spread evenly across the surface of the pan.
  4. Pour out the batter into the size of pancake you want. This mixture should make about 2-3 pancakes depending on the size you make. (A perfect amount for a sweet snack!)
  5. Leave the pancake to harden before you flip the pancake onto the other side. I wait at least 2-3 minutes to ensure that the pancake will not break whilst I am flipping the pancake.
  6. Plate up your pancakes, squirt a generous layer of maple syrup and then add your hot berries on top!

I thoroughly enjoyed this snack and it gave me the boost I needed to continue revising. By mixing the ingredients in the blender, it creates a soft, fluffy and smooth batter. Honestly, these pancakes are just as good as normal pancakes and they are a sweet treat without the guilt.

Leave a Reply

