The Gym

The gym was always a place that never really appealed to me. Yes, I have always like the idea of working out and keeping your body fit and healthy; however, an air-conditioned, sweaty room filled with an overwhelming amount of testosterone… No thank you.

Until late last year, I had never stepped foot in a gym and I remember being so unbelievably nervous attending my first class. However, I did it. One of my closest university friends and I made the decision to join and ACTUALLY go instead of joining and seeing your money being wasted every month. Having a friend really did help because it softened that feeling of being a little fish in a big pond.

It has been about seven months since I first started the gym and I am so happy I made the decision and stuck to it. Don’t get me wrong, there have been weeks that I have not been consistent and I have had MANY days where the last thing I wanted to do was sweat and make my body hurt. This is another reason why having a friend or gym buddy is essential because they force you to go. However, I am at a point where I am really beginning to enjoy going to the gym. Now that the end of university is approaching and the work load is the toughest yet, I really believe the gym (even if it is just a half hour class) gives me routine and an escape from university work and the stresses of daily life.

I find that going to classes is the best way for me to work out because it means exercise for a substantial period of time and having other people surrounding me motivates me and pushes me to work hard. I still have not reached the point where I can go to the gym on my own and work out by myself yet, but I am hoping this will happen in the future.

Lastly, you never regret a workout so just do it! I always feel great after as it clears my mind ready for the day ahead.

This post is slightly different to my usual ones; but I want to start incorporating other aspects of my lifestyle to this blog. Let me know if you would want to see a greater variety of posts!

Chloe

Leave a Reply

