Belated Birthday Celebrations!

Hey everyone!

I am very lucky to be still celebrating my birthday! On Saturday night, both my dad and his girlfriend  kindly took me back up to Lincoln ready to start back at University on Monday. Not only did they do that but they also took me out for a belated birthday meal! We went to a Thai restaurant called ‘Thailand No.1’ in the Bailgate which is the historic part of the city very near to the Cathedral and Castle. We chose this particular restaurant as it had many good reviews on TripAdvisor and we are all fans of oriental and Asian cuisine.

We ordered the deluxe set meal so we could pick and choose from a variety of dishes. Oh. My. Word. The food was absolutely incredible. It was beautifully presented and it tasted out of this world. The flavours were almost exactly like the authentic food I ate in Thailand a few years ago. I have tried Thai food in quite a few restaurants but they have never really “wowed” me. However, Thailand No.1 has swiftly become my No.1.

This is the exact menu of the deluxe set meal:

SET MEAL DELUXE £29.95 per person

(minimum 4 people)

SOUP

Tom Yum Goong Medium Hot

The famous Thai hot & sour soup with King prawns

APPETIZER

Chef’s platter

A collection of classical Thai starters with various dips

MAIN COURSE

Gaeng Musaman Gai Slightly Hot

Yellow curry chicken in coconut milk with peanuts and potatoes

Pla Sam Rod Slightly Hot

Boneless crispy seabass cooked in our chef’s special three flavoured sauce

Ped Ma Kham

Duck breast on top with an exotic tamarind sauce

Hoy Ob Neuy Samun Prai

King scallops pan fried in garlic butter with a Thai herbs topping

Chu Chee Kung Mae NamMedium Hot

Giant fresh water prawns topped with an aromatic reduction of red curry sauce, sprinkled with lime leaves

Pad Thai

A traditional Thai soft fried noodles dish with chicken, topped with mixed ground nuts

Khow Pad Pi-Sed

Special fried rice with King prawns, chicken, pork, pineapple and onion

Tea or Coffee (Not forgetting mint chocolates given to us once we paid for the bill!)

20161029_175319

20161029_181458-1

The service was simply fantastic. The staff were friendly and attentive; they declared what each dish they were serving to us (which I felt was a very mice tough and it meant we knew exactly what we were eating). Secondly,  they always came over to serve our rice and to make sure our drinks were always filled. They even sponged down the table after each course! I felt very important and looked after; service which all customers want! The food was very quick and very hot too! Most of the food was placed over candles to keep them warm whilst we were eating which was useful because there was a lot of food to consume. Unfortunately we were defeated by the amount of food presented to us but the staff were very kind and packaged the leftovers for us to take home! Even the leftovers were packaged beautifully! Lastly, I have to mention the crockery. The serving platters, the plates and cutlery were very aesthetic and authentic looking! I really felt I was back in Thailand again; it was a truly wonderful experience. My parents and I had a fabulous time and great food and atmosphere always encourages great conversation. We didn’t stop talking!

To my surprise, this was not the last of the celebrations as my parents were dropping me back to my University house, my dad’s girlfriend surprised me with a homemade chocolate birthday cake! She is an excellent baker and has made many cakes for family and friends and for her to make me one especially was just the icing on the cake (literally) to a fabulous evening!

20161029_195309

This cake is a decadent, chocolate extravaganza and the perfect cake for the chocolate lover. Excuse the missing malteaser and chocolate finger, my partner thought it would be funny to steal them before I took the photo! Anyway, who doesn’t love a bit of chocolate in their life? Even better, who doesn’t love a piece of homemade cake and a  large cup of tea to cheer you up on a dark winter day? I am certainly taking a piece with me for my lunch tomorrow. That should definitely give me some motivation to be productive on a dreary Monday morning! She even remembered my dislike for white chocolate and made it with only milk chocolate! I have said it so many times but I have been truly spoilt this year.

I hope you all are having a lovely Sunday!

Best wishes,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

