Homemade Macaroni Cheese

Good evening!

Today, I am sharing with you a dish that is a little on the unhealthy side. But, it is easy to make from scratch and a great comfort if you’re in need of a cuddle! Your diet should be balanced so it is okay to have a naughty meal or two! Due to recently celebrating my birthday, going away and visiting home for the last week; I have certainly indulged!

Anyway, I had been working all day and was in need of something stodgy, comforting and delicious to make myself feel better so I decided homemade macaroni cheese would be the perfect dish to do just that! Within about 15 minutes you will have a steaming pan full of sticky, gooey, cheesy pasta ready to devour.

I made a normal cheese sauce (I normally do not measure the ingredients), but, if you’re unsure of a recipe there are loads on the internet. Any cheese sauce method would suffice! Once the cheese sauce is thickening, I boiled the macaroni until it was soft. Then, once the pasta is cooked, drain it and then add it to the cheese sauce and dinner is made! I was only making a small portion for myself, however, this somehow became mammoth sized obviously I have no conception of portion control! This is a dish which is just as nice heated up so I persuaded my family to have a bit before I put the leftovers in the refrigerator ready to be heated up for lunch tomorrow.

As you can see from the featured image, I ate my macaroni cheese with a simple side salad of spinach. It’s all about the balance! Macaroni cheese is one of the most versatile dishes so you can accompany it with anything from vegetables to american hot chicken wings!

What is your favourite comfort meal?

Chloe

Leave a Reply

