Homemade Fruit Granola

Good evening!

Recently, I purchased Naomi Smart’s new cook book and I am absolutely and irrevocably in love with it. The recipes are not only beautiful but taste amazing! This week I attempted to make her ‘Mixed fruit and nut Granola’. I found to purchase all of the ingredients were a little pricey.  However, I justified the price by reassuring myself that by making it from scratch was more satisfying and rewarding, the ingredients were fresher and healthier and it serves 16 so it should last be a while. Also, I have enough ingredients remaining to make another few batches which should equal out as probably slightly cheaper in price but in health I’m sure there is no comparison!

Ingredients:

  • Oats
  • Maple Syrup
  • Coconut Oil
  • Almonds
  • Pecan nuts
  • Pumpkin Seeds (I used a pumpkin seed packet which was mixed with other seeds such as linseed and sunflower seeds.)
  • Coconut Flakes (I used desiccated coconut instead as I didn’t have any!)
  • Chopped dried fruit such as unsulphured apricots, medjool dates, figs, raisins and prunes (I used sultanas, normal apricots, normal dates and prunes)
20161014_210102
This is the combined oat, pumpkin seed, pecan nut and almonds with the coconut oil and maple syrup which has been spread out on a baking tray is now ready to be baked!

 

The method for this recipe was very simple. Firstly you had to melt the coconut oil with the maple syrup. Once melted and combined, you take this off the heat. Stir the mixture of oats, pumpkin seeds, almonds and pecan nuts in a bowl and then add the coconut oil and maple syrup to the mixture so it is completely covered. Pour into a baking tray (I lined mine with baking parchment so it wouldn’t stick). Bake in a hot oven stirring the mixture so the whole of the mixture is cooked through. After about 15 minutes add the coconut and stir the granola. Once the mixture is golden brown take it out of the oven and leave to cool. Once cooled, add the chopped dried fruit and store in an airtight container (I used normal jars I had lying about).

20161014_212524
This is the granola about halfway through cooking. The desiccated coconut has been added and I have stirred the mixture around ready to go in for a few more minutes of baking.

(The finished result is featured above).

I couldn’t believe how easy and simple it was to make homemade granola. Before discovering this recipe, I assumed granola would  be extremely complicated to make. As I was spooning the granola into jars, I couldn’t help myself from nibbling at a little bit of it  and oh my, the taste is incredible! Honestly, it tastes far better than any shop bought granola I have ever eaten! I am so excited for breakfast in the morning! The question is, will it keep me full until lunch? I hope so!

If you would like the full recipe please do not hesitate to ask!

Best wishes,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

