Australian Toasted Banana Bread

Good evening!

On Saturday, I spent my evening trying out Tanya Burr’s ‘Australian Toasted Banana Bread- I know, a wild Saturday night. I have only tried to make banana bread a few times but I vaguely remember something going wrong every time. The banana bread took quite a while to bake but the result was very pleasing- one flatmate even had seconds!

Ingredients:

  • Plain flour
  • 2 eggs
  • Mashed ripe banana
  • Soft dark brown sugar
  • Butter
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • Butter, to serve

Method:

  • Preheat the oven and lightly grease the loaf tin and line with grease proof paper.
  • Cream together the butter and the sugar and then mix the eggs, vanilla, flour, baking powder and salt until fully combined. (I mixed the flour a little bit at a time to make sure all the ingredients were properly combined and I also I was whisking this by hand so it made it a lot easier too!)
  • Stir through the mashed banana and then pour into the loaf tin.
  • Bake the loaf for about 40-50 minutes. (I found that with my oven I had to bake the loaf for about 20-30 minutes longer!)

Tanya recommends leaving the bread to cool and then grilling the slices and spread with butter. I have never eaten it like that but it was really enjoyable! The sweetness of the bread complimented the saltiness of butter and the grilling of the slices created a nice crust which the melted butter softened. I also had a large mug of green tea to wash it all down. In my opinion you cannot have cake without a hot drink! Finally, I know it’s not healthy but I can definitely see myself eating this for breakfast or having as a snack as well as dessert… Well, that’s if there is any left!

If you would like the full recipe. Please do not hesitate to ask!

Are there any bakes you have tried recently?

Best wishes,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

