Strawberry Chia Jam

Hello!

In my last blog post I said that I had ordered, and was eagerly waiting for the debut cookbook by YouTube Star, Naomi Smart. Since getting the book in my hands, I have spent far too many hours browsing and reading the beautiful pages of her innovative plant based recipes. Not only does this book provide knowledge on the extensive recipes you can make which do not depend on any animal produced products, but, Naomi herself shares her knowledge on super foods and basic ingredients which are a kitchen staple in most households. I found this information so useful because it simplified what makes an ingredient a “super food” and the nutrition which basic ingredients that I use everyday provide! Furthermore, many of the recipes do not require obscure ingredients which you have never heard of before therefore most of the recipes are affordable to many.

The first recipe I tried was Naomi’s version of Strawberry Jam. I have been thinking about attempting to make my own jam instead of buying them for ages. So, when I came across this recipe it gave me the last push to try it and I am so glad I did. The recipe requires very little ingredients and it is so simple to make!

Ingredients:

  • Chia Seeds
  • Strawberries
  • Water
  • Maple Syrup (I used honey instead)
  • Lemon Juice

Method:

  • Chop the strawberries and place in a saucepan with 2 tablespoons of water.
  • Set on a high heat and then turn the heat to a low heat. Mash the strawberries wih a fork and leave to simmer.
  • Remove the strawberries from the heat and add the chia seeds with the lemon juice and maple syrup/honey/
  • Allow to cool and set for approximately 15 minutes before serving. (If you would prefer a smoother consistency, blend till smooth in a blender).
  • Keep in the fridge in an airtight container.

 

20160913_214804

 

I have featured the jam spread on brown toast, however, I think my favourite combination was the jam slathered on top of hot, toasted crumpets! This jam tastes of a strawberry sweet I had as a child. I blended the mixture to achieve a smoother consistency but if you prefer a chunkier texture then you can leave the mixture once stewed together. What makes it better is that I came across reduced crumpets on my way home from university. They were an expensive 8p!! I couldn’t believe it! I got two packs, one to eat straight away and one to freeze for later. I thoroughly indulged in crumpets and homemade jam for the next week, having it for breakfast, lunch, a snack or simply if I was craving a sweet treat! I am now keeping my eyes peeled for more reduced crumpets because crumpets found for a bargain outweigh the calorie intake right?!

Hope you all are well and enjoying the transition into autumn! Be prepared for the food to get more stodgy as the temperature gets cooler!

Best wishes,

Chloe

 

Leave a Reply

