Healthy Chocolate Shake

Hello all!

It has been about a month since I last posted but you will be pleased to know that I have returned to University and I am ready to get back in the kitchen properly! I have been absolutely loving Deliciously Ella’s recipes recently (obviously judging by my previous blog posts) and I am still obsessed. Don’t worry, I have ordered Naomi Smarts’s debut cookbook called Eat Smart so hopefully there should be some exciting new recipes coming your way! But for now, I bring to you a current favourite which has been my go to for lunch, a quick sweet treat, a dessert or a sweet breakfast! Ladies and gentlemen, I bring to you Deliciously Ella’s  ‘Banana, avocado and cacao smoothie’ or as I like to call it, my healthy chocolate milkshake!

Ingredients:

  • About 1/2 a cup of almond milk (I normally need more to achieve a thinner consistency)
  • 1 really ripe Banana
  • 1/2 and Avocado
  • 4 Medjool dates (I do not normally include these because they are a little pricey for me and you need a powerful bender to blend them down!)
  • 2 teaspoons of Cacao
  • 1 teaspoon of Manuka honey (I use normal runny honey)
  • 1 teaspoon of almond butter (Or you can use any nut butter! I have been using Cashew Butter as I have run out of Almond butter)
  • A few ice cubes

I kid you not, this smoothie/ shake is so thick in consistency, creamy and chocolatey that someone trying it without knowing what ingredients were used to make it would think that it was an ordinary Nesquik milkshake. So, it is even suitable for children with a sweet tooth. As the weather has started to change, I have been whipping this up to give me a boost of energy around lunchtime. My boyfriend tried it and asked what it was. I replied, ‘my healthy chocolate shake’ and he looked at me puzzled and replied it’s not healthy it’s filled with chocolate! Then I replied smugly that it was made from fresh, healthy ingredients. He couldn’t believe it! The next thing I know it was all gone!

Because the mixture can be quite thick, this could also be eaten as a smoothie bowl. So if you fancy a chocolate breakfast/ snack/ dessert and have a little more time to be creative I think this would be a great alternative!

Finally, I have found a healthy, sweet alternative to my sugary snacks but it doesn’t feel like I have compromised my sweet treats at all!

Best wishes,

Chloe

 

2 thoughts on “Healthy Chocolate Shake

Leave a Reply

