Deliciously Ella’s ‘Chickpea, Quinoa and Turmeric Curry’

Hello!

Continuing my Deliciously Ella obsession, I wanted to share with you another recipe I have tried and loved recently! I came across this recipe from a magazine that I got free from a health food store called The Grape Tree. This has swiftly become a latest obsession too, I absolutely love it in there because they sell health foods for such a value price! Forget clothes shopping, I could easily spend all of my money in there! Anyway, it wasn’t until I flicked through the magazine that I noticed this curry by Deliciously Ella and then realised I owned the book that it came from!  Not only did it have some healthy and easy recipes but there were a couple of really informative pages about nuts and their health benefits too. It was so useful and insightful! I am definitely on the look out for the next issue. I think this store is fairly new (however, do not quote me on this) but they have a website, are on Facebook and have a twitter account. So, if you’re looking for a cheaper health food store to brands such as Holland and Barrett then this is ideal for you!

Anyway, back to the making of the dish. If you’re new to plant-based recipes, you may understand the feeling of dread when you start looking into the ingredients list to make the dishes. I always assume that most of the recipes require special ingredients which are a) hard to get or b) extremely expensive. However, with great relief, I am pleased to tell you that for a lot of recipes this is not the case.

Ingredients:

  • New potatoes
  • Garlic cloves
  • Turmeric
  • Coriander
  • Chilli Flakes/ Powder
  • Ground Ginger
  • Coconut Milk
  • Tomato Puree
  • Chopped Tomatoes
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Quinoa
  • Chickpeas
  • Spinach

Fortunately, the only ingredient which I had to buy was the turmeric!

The result:

The curry was so easy to make and didn’t involve too many pieces of crockery meaning minimal washing up- hallelujah! It takes about 45 minutes to an hour to cook. Although this may seem a long cooking time, this is because you have to boil the potatoes and the quinoa in the curry has to stew for about 30 minutes. But it is not a complicated dish at all! Whilst, it was cooking my open plan kitchen was filled with the most delicious smells. The turmeric coming through was simply divine! Before trying this recipe, I have never cooked with turmeric but it was so tasty! I have heard of turmeric often being present in most Indian dishes and I have heard that it has great health benefits but never had the opportunity to cook with it myself. Unsurprisingly, the turmeric was the flavour that really came through and created that authentic “Indian curry” flavour we all know! Normally, the smell of a dish is the indication as to whether you have created a masterpiece or a disaster. This my friends, was most certainly a triumph! I enjoyed it so much that I didn’t even miss having some meat or fish in there- (you can add a meat of your choice if you would prefer though!). The flavours were incredible, the halved potatoes melted in the mouth and added a little sweetness to the punchy, flavoursome dish. This is so filling but does not feel too heavy on the stomach. As a person, who is prone to bloating after particularly carby dishes, I found that this dish left me satisfied but not uncomfortable or drowsy afterwards! I cannot wait to make some more!

Best wishes,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

