Spicy Spinach and Prawn Arrabbiata

Good evening!

It’s another day and another new recipe to try! This evening I made this dish based on another Deliciously Ella recipe. This time I tried her ‘Easy Pasta Arrabbiata’ however, I added some prawns, spinach and grated a little cheese on the top.

As the name suggests, this pasta dish was extremely easy and needed very few ingredients! In fact, nearly all of the ingredients are staples that I would assume are kept in most kitchens.

Ingredients:

This recipe serves one however, I found it to serve 2 people. (I may have overdid it with the pasta as I did not weigh it.)

  • 1 serving of pasta (used whole wheat pasta instead of brown rice pasta as the recipe suggests)
  • Oregano (dried)
  • Thyme (dried)
  • Chilli Flakes (dried)
  • 2 garlic cloves (The recipe suggests crushing them but instead I finely chopped them.)
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 12 cherry tomatoes (quartered)
  • Half a 400g can of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon of tomato puree
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • Handful of Prawns
  • Handful of fresh spinach
  • Cheese (optional)
  • Salt and pepper to season

Firstly, I put the pasta on a low heat to cook slowly and then in a wok I combined the oil, oregano, thyme, chilli flakes and garlic. The recipe advises you to quarter the 12 cherry tomatoes whilst the herbs and spices cooks. However I feel that this is not enough time. I ended up burning the mixture even though I had the hob on the lowest heat! On my second try, I made sure that all the ingredients were prepared so I could just throw in the ingredients when needed.

After a about a minute, add the chopped tomatoes and then let this cook through for another couple of minutes before adding the chopped tomatoes, tomato puree, lemon juice and salt and pepper to season. I would suggest cooking the arrabbiata on a low heat to prevent burning. Lastly I would add the prawns. I used pre-cooked and peeled frozen prawns for convenience but fresh prawns are just as effective! This only take minutes to cook which gives you plenty of time to drain the pasta.

Take the wok off the heat, add the pasta and fresh spinach to the sauce. Plate the pasta in a bowl and add grated cheese if you fancy! Simple!

I was pleasantly surprised how, thick and rich the sauce was! It had a great depth to it and reminded me of the tomato and herb sauces you buy from the supermarket! It was delicious! It was lovely to have the same taste as what you would buy in stores but knowing it was made with fresh ingredients and all on your own. From now on, I will always be making my own tomato sauce for tomato dishes in the future! If you are pushed for time in the evenings, you could always prep the arrabbiata, store it in an airtight container in the fridge and then heat it up when necessary!

If you prefer meals which are cheap, simple and most importantly quick to make; I would highly recommend trying this recipe! Not only is it a great summer dish but I can see it becoming a firm favourite in the winter whenyou’re in need of stodgy carbs to comfort you through those chilly winter evenings.

Best wishes,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

