Salmon and Quinoa Summer Salad

Good evening!

Finally, summer is here in the UK! I have been loving the heat and the longer, brighter days! Although, now the temperatures have suddenly risen, my appetite has decreased! Yesterday, I fancied something light but packed with nutrition because over the last couple of weeks I haven’t eaten very healthily and have begun to feel sluggish and not as positive as I would like so I am slowly weaning myself off the unnecessary processed meals and snacks and getting back to eating fresh, home-cooked food!

I made this meal spontaneously because I found an unopened bag of quinoa lying at the back of the cupboard. I love quinoa but in the past, I haven’t been successful in making it. I know, it’s one of the simplest things to make but I haven’t managed to get it right… until now. This time I followed the instructions of Jamie Oliver on how to cook the perfect quinoa and it worked perfectly!

Once the quinoa was cooked, I put it to one side to cool and then began cooking the salmon. I wrapped a portion of salmon (I used a frozen fillet piece) in tin foil and added a little bit of boiling water so the salmon is immersed in the water. The boiling water is the agent which cooks the salmon in the oven. I put the oven on a high heat and cooked the salmon for about 20-25 minutes.

Whilst the salmon is cooking, I chopped a couple of mushrooms, one green chilli, half a courgette, a couple of spring onions, one garlic clove and a handful of cherry tomatoes. I fried all the ingredients in a wok with coconut oil and seasoned with ground ginger, pepper, a splash of soy sauce, basil, oregano and some cumin. Once cooked, I turned off the heat and added the quinoa to the spicy vegetable mix. Then I prepared the side salad consisting of spinach and half and avocado. Lastly, I plated all the elements together, sprinkled the salmon with some pepper and tucked in!

This was so delicious! It was perfect as it was packed full of goodness but was not lacking in flavour. Plus, it was a filling meal but did not feel heavy on the stomach.

I hope you all are enjoying the summer and chowing down on food which ultimately makes you happy and feel good!

Best wishes,

Chloe

 

Leave a Reply

