Prawn, Sweet Potato and Salad

Hi everyone!

I thought I would share this prawn, sweet potato and salad dish with you as it was inspired by the sardine dish I posted a few days ago. As you can probably tell, I have been really enjoying sweet potato at the moment! It is extremely nutritious, sometimes being classed in the super-food category, filling, adds colour to your meal and the naturally sweet taste satisfies my cravings for a naughty sweet treat afterwards! This is perfect if you do not want to cook but you want to have something healthy at home so on a week day or a day I have been especially busy, I find that a reach for meals similar to this that is nutritious but very simple!

Ingredients:

  • 1 handful of frozen king prawns
  • 1 handful of salad (I used a mixture of spinach and rocket)
  • A sprinkling of Greek feta
  • 1 sweet potato

Firstly, I baked the sweet potato in the oven for about 30-35 mins. About 10 minutes before the potato is fully baked I boiled some water and defrosted the prawns in a bowl. After a few minutes of de-frosting, I heated a small knob of margarine (you can also use butter) in a saucepan and added the prawns to fry. I used a medium heat so the butter cooks the prawns. Then I seasoned with pepper, paprika, a small amount of garlic paste. I let the prawns simmer in the butter for about 5 minutes. As the prawns and potato are cooking, I dressed my plate with the spinach and rocket salad and sprinkled some feta over the top ready to serve!

The prawns were buttery with a hint of spice which complemented the sweetness of the sweet potato and the salty feta! This is another meal which takes little time to make and involves very little cooking and it is a great meal for a warm summer evening!

What is your go-to meal at the moment?

Best wishes,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

