Homemade Red Lentil Soup

Good evening everyone!

On friday I made Lentil Soup for the first time! At the moment, I am trying to re-vamp our cooking regime because it is so easy to get stuck making the same meals every week. By changing just one ingredient you could result in a new meal, or even just revitalise an old favourite!

My partner and I bought a 500g pack of Red Lentils last week because not only are we trying to eat healthier, but, we realised that we do not eat as many lentils and pulses as we should. Also, it is a stodgy alternative to the usual carbohydrates such as rice, potatoes and pasta. Lentils are high in fibre, low in calories and very high in protein! I had a bowl full at about 2pm and I was full until 9pm! A great source of energy and great for keeping you full for long periods of time! ‘Lentil Soup’ doesn’t sound like the most appetising meal but it tastes so good! Its very comforting and warms you up from the inside and I cannot wait to have some more!

I forgot to take a photo for the blog, but, we bought some chickpeas too and added a can to a chicken tikka curry. It was very tasty! The chickpeas made the curry more filling and it didn’t add any noticeable flavour therefore it was a tikka curry but with a little more texture. We would definitely have curry again with the added chickpeas because they are high in fibre and contain iron, calcium, magnesium, manganese, zinc, phosphate and vitamin K which is extremely good for you! Our goal is to introduce small changes such as these into our normal cooking routine.

Anyway, back to the Lentil Soup I made today! I followed a recipe from a site called ‘Student recipes’ which was perfect for a student like me! I chose this particular recipe because most of the ingredients I had in the cupboard and I didn’t need a food processor to blend the soup a the end! There are so many recipes I want to try but many need a food processor which I cannot afford at this point in time. Although, it is on my wish list when I graduate!

The ‘Student recipes’ ingredients:

  • 2 – 3 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 medium size onions
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 500g (1lb) red lentils
  • 3 pints of meat, chicken or veg stock
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon coriander
  • a pinch of chilli powder(optional)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • salt if required
  • a small bunch of fresh parsley or dill chopped finely, to garnish

The ingredients that I used:

  • 2 – 3 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 medium size onions (white)
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely diced
  • 500g (1lb) red lentils
  • 3 pints of meat, chicken or veg stock
  • 0.5-1 pint of hot water
  • Dried parsley, Chilli, pepper, Salt, Ginger, Oregano

And then I followed the instructions!

  • Heat the oil in a large pan and cook onions, stirring occasionally, until very brown. Stir in the garlic.
  • Add the lentils and stock and bring to the boil. Remove any scum. Stir in the cumin, coriander and chilli powder, if using, and simmer for an hour or until lentils have disintegrated, . Add salt if desired when lentils have begun to soften.
  • If necessary, add water to thin the soup to a light-cream consistency. Stir in the lemon juice and serve in warm bowls, garnishing each with a little parsley or dill.

I found that the lentils absorbed the water very quickly so you must keep an eye on the soup whilst it is simmering because it may stick to the pan! I ended up adding so much water to keep the mixture, moist and to allow the lentils to become soft and mushy.

Furthermore, I added dried parsley, chilli, ginger and oregano because I didn’t have any fresh herbs. Although, if I made it again and had fresh herbs I would definitely add that instead. However, the dried herbs were a great alternative and made the soup so herby with a little kick of spice! I only realised afterwards that I forgot to add the lemon juice! But, the ginger I added probably replaced the zing which I would have achieved. To garnish, I used two leaves of spinach instead of fresh parsley or dill. The soup was smooth, stodgy and simply delightful! Additionally, I made a huge batch therefore I have enough to have for lunch over the weekend!

The ingredients for this soup is so cheap and it is so easy to make- it takes no time at all! If I had a thermal container I would definitely take this to University with me!

Have you tried any new recipes or ingredients recently? If so, please let me know what it is!

Best wishes,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

