What I ate for breakfast!

Good evening!

This morning I made the most delicious raspberry smoothie! I had some very ripe bananas which needed to be used so I thought I would use them by putting them into a fruit smoothie. I prefer to make a smoothies with browning bananas as they are so soft and sweet therefore they are very ease to mix in the blender and they add so much sweetness that I do not have to add an alternative such as honey or dates!  I really enjoy smoothies as it is a great way to use up fruit before it goes off, it is really quick and so simple to make and it is a great way to get lots of fruit into your diet.

The ingredients I used to make my raspberry smoothie:

  • Large handful of frozen raspberries
  • I sachet of porridge oats
  • Approximately 300ml of skimmed milk (you may need more depending on how thick or thin you prefer)
  • 1 large ripe banana
  • 1 fat free strawberry Greek yogurt pot
  • 2 large tablespoon of Milled Linseed Mix
  • Handful of ice cubes

Firstly,  I broke the banana into a few pieces and popped it into my blender. (You can use any blender for this because the ingredients are fairly soft). Then I added the handful of raspberries, sachet of oats and one large teaspoonful of Linseed Mix. I like to add oats to my smoothies to thicken it up and make sure my breakfast smoothie gives me the energy to keep me going throughout the day.

Additionally, I add a Milled Linseed Mix because it is a crumbly mixture of linseed, sesame, blueberries and raspberries which is high in fibre, omega 3 and gluten free. It is milled because whole linseed cannot be utilised efficiently by the body because it is difficult to break down. These seeds go through a special cold milling process to make the nutrients easier to absorb within the body.  There are many meals, other than smoothies, that you can add this Linseed Mix to. Some examples are, juice, hot or cold cereal, pancakes, fruit, yogurt, soup, salads,  dessert crumble topping, ice cream or stuffing!  I normally have it in my morning porridge! I only discovered this mix last year and it is one of favourite discoveries of 2015! I love that this product is so versatile as you can add it to most meals without compromising the look or taste! There are a variety of types of Linseed Mix meaning you are not constrained to one flavour.

After the Linseed, I scrape out a yogurt pot of strawberry flavoured Greek fat free yogurt, add the ice cubes and then add the milk. I do not always add yogurt to my smoothies but if I have some then I will chuck it in because the combination of milk and yogurt in a smoothie makes it so thick and creamy! Lastly, I add ice to make the smoothie extra cold!

Finally, the result is a light pink, creamy and berry flavoured smoothie which filled about four whole glasses! The smoothie tastes similar to cold strawberries and cream and always reminds me of the summer! I prefer drinking it with a straw just to add to the summer vibes!

If you would like to know more about the Linseed Mix feel free to comment below! Also, if you have a favourite smoothie recipe that you would like to share please comment as I am always open to trying new smoothie ideas!

Best wishes,

Chloe

 

 

Leave a Reply

