Lamb Steaks with Homemade Chips

Good evening!

I haven’t posted in a while due to starting my second term at university. My timetable has changed therefore I am getting used to a new routine.

Anyway, have you ever made a spontaneous dinner that didn’t go terribly wrong? Well, for me, this was one of those meals. Up until a few days ago, I was in desperate need of doing a food shop. I had barely anything to eat! Fortunately though, on my way home from University I popped into the Tesco Extra to buy some little essentials such as bread and milk and came across an overflowing reduced section. I had a little rummage and found a packet of 2 grill steaks reduced to £1.20 from £4 which I thought was such a bargain therefore I bought two packets! One I used for our meal that evening, and the other I put in the freezer for another time.

It is very rare that I eat Lamb and it is even rarer that I have it at home. Usually I have Lamb if someone is cooking for me or if I have it at a restaurant! However, it is slowly becoming one of my favourite meats!

In our very bare cupboards we did have a single potato and a few spinach leaves. With the potato, I made some homemade rosemary chips. Firstly, I washed and sliced the potato. Then I placed the chip-slices on a sheet of foil and drizzled it with a little olive oil and seasoned it with salt, pepper and dried rosemary. These took about 30 minutes to cook.

Whilst the homemade oven chips baked I prepared the spinach onto the plates and prepared the Portobello mushroom. I bought these mushrooms to accompany the Lamb Steaks. To make the mushrooms a little more exciting, I grated the miniscule piece of cheese left in the fridge, added a few Italian herbs and seasoned with salt and pepper. I put these into the oven about 10 minutes before the chips would be done. At the same time, I put the steaks to grill under a medium heat.

The steaks took a lot less time to cook than I imagined! The packet estimated around an average of 15 minutes and the grill I have isn’t particularly good so I presumed that it would take a lot longer. I was hoping to have the steaks a little more pink but I neglected the food for too long therefore the steaks were a little over cooked! Furthermore, the mushroom didn’t bake and soften as quickly as I thought therefore it was a little underdone!

Anyway, the steaks were lovely and surprisingly they were still soft and succulent even though they were overdone! The chips had a crispy skin and a soft centre and the mushroom was lovely too. Although, for future reference I would bake the mushroom for more than 10 minutes!

Overall, this meal was fairly quick with little cooking, inexpensive, light and reasonably healthy! Yet again, I would definitely recommend having a look in the reduced section if you have time… It is like a treasure trove; you don’t know what treat you will find!

If you have any suggestions on what you would like to see on my next post. Please comment or email me!

Chloe

 

Leave a Reply

