Homemade Seafood Ramen

Good evening!

Recently, the weather has changed dramatically from autumn to winter thus it has become darker, colder and wetter! I hate to say it but I think winter is finally here!  The wintery weather and the slowly increasing work load at University means that I have been craving a dish that will set my taste buds alight and rejuvenate my spirits!

I have always enjoyed Asian and Japanese food but never thought of trying to make one myself. On this particular occasion I fancied something  light, reasonably healthy and spicy to warm me up from the inside. The idea was inspired by of my many favourite restaurants called Wagamama which is a chain of Japanese restaurants.  The dish that I always choose is the seafood broth which is similar to the ramen I made however the noodles and seafood are cooked in a coconut based broth. This is what inspired me to make my own ramen!

I got the recipe from a site called RTE Lifestyle which is not a recipe site that I would normally use but the instructions were very clear! I would definitely use this site again for other recipes.  The recipe I followed (and adapted) was called ‘Wagamama Seafood Ramen’. If you would like the link to the recipe, please email me and I can send it to you!

Initially, when I thought ‘ramen’ I thought it was going to be quite difficult but it was surprisingly quick (taking about 20-25 minutes) and easy. Even my partner who is a fledgling cook attempted it without my supervision or guidance!

I didn’t use all of the seafood suggested as I had to keep the price of the dish low to suit my student budget. I used two pieces of  frozen pink salmon fillets, an oversized handful of frozen prawns and a can of crab meat to make it a bit more filling. The first thing I did was defrost both the prawns and partially cooked the salmon in hot water wrapped in foil. Then I continued with the steps instructed. For the noodles, I used ‘Udon noodles’ rather than the ramen noodles that the recipe specifies but treated it the same as if I had the “proper” noodles. Furthermore, as you can tell by the picture, I didn’t bother staining the eggs. I just boiled them until hard and then added it at the end. Finally, I added my own herbs and spices such as fresh coriander, ginger, cayenne pepper, garlic, cumin, salt and pepper to add a bit of zing to the flavour (obviously this is not essential if you fancy a warming ramen rather than a hot, spicy one!).

Not only is the dish visually appealing but it is full of flavour, nutritional and is surprisingly filling! It really hits the spot if you’re in need of a boost in the evening. I found this dish incredibly easy and I have a feeling it shall become part of my staple evening meals.

The (adapted) ingredients:

  • King prawns (I used pre cooked and peeled frozen ones)
  • Crab meat (White crab meat  in a tin)
  • Salmon (Frozen wild Salmon fillets)
  • Spring Onions
  • Coriander
  • A hard boiled egg
  • Fermented Bamboo Shoots (I found this in a foreign food shop and it was sold in a jar)
  • Fresh Spinach Leaves
  • Chicken Stock
  • 600ml boiling water
  • Udon noodles
  • Ginger, garlic, paprika, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper

 

 

Leave a Reply

